top of page

Season 2015 | 16


Claude Debussy -La Cathédrale Engloutie
Igor Stravinsky - Pater Noster (1926)

Igor Stravinsky - Ave Maria (1934)

Igor Stravinsky - The Dove Descending Breaks The Air (1962)
Toru Takemitsu - Quatrain II (1977)
Olivier Messiaen - La Mort du Nombre (1930)

Olivier Messiaen - O Sacrum Convivium! (1937)

Pérotin - Viderunt Omnes (c. 1200)
Pierre Boulez - Douze Notations (1946)
Reiko Füting - versinkend, versingend, verklingend: fernes Lied (2015)

Oerknal teams up with vocal quartet Damask to present a program that spans centuries.


Medieval music is coupled with the music of the 20th-century, from Debussy's eerie La Cathédrale Engloutie and a choice selection of Stravinsky's rarely performed quartets through works by Boulez and Takemitsu. Damask performed Pérotin's lively Viderunt Omnes, an early example of vocal polyphony, alongside the astonishing O Sacrum Convivium! by Olivier Messiaen. The program concludes with the premiere of versinkend, versingend, verklingend: fernes Lied by the German-American composer Reiko Füting, loosely based on Debussy’s La Cathédrale Engloutie.


These two leading ensembles from The Hague take us along on a moving and exciting journey that transcends the here and now.

bottom of page