top of page

SoundsofMusic - Clara Iannotta | 7 November

Clara Iannotta - The people here go mad. They blame the wind. (2014)

Clara Iannotta - Il colore dell'ombra (2010)

Clara Iannotta - A Failed Entertainment (2013)

Daniel Boeke, bass clarinet

Sophie Patey, piano 

Jellantsje de Vries, violin

Raphaella Engelsberg, violin

Lidwine Dam, viola

René van Munster, cello

Season 2018 | 19

Clara Iannotta is a composer working at the absolute forefront of new music. Her compositions have been performed by groups such as Ensemble Intercontemporain, the Arditti Quartet and Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, to name a few. Oerknal is happy to take part in a retrospective of her work on 7 November at SoundsofMusic Festival in Groningen!

Oerknal will present three works by Clara: the elegant piano trio Il colore dell'ombra, an homage to Maurice Ravel, The people here go mad. They blame the wind., a trio for bass clarinet (doubling 12 music-boxes), cello and piano inspired by metal chimes clanging on a windy day in Boston, and A Failed Entertainment, an enigmatic string quartet inspired by David Foster Wallace's novel Infinite Jest.

Pianist Vivian Choi and students from Prins Claus Conservatorium will also perform. An evening not to be missed! 

Wednesday, 7 November - 20.00

Groningen - SoundsofMusic

Grand Theatre

Grote Markt 35

9711 LV Groningen

tickets |

normal: €15,-

CPJ | student: €10,-

to book tickets online click here


Clara Iannotta

The people here go mad. They blame the wind. (Trio Catch)

bottom of page